skip to Main Content

European states and the European institutions are key providers of development assistance and by extension democracy support. Through a comparative approach, the study explores the state of democracy support in policy and funding of 12 European countries: the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

The paper looks specifically at the policy documents of the aforementioned countries to assess where democracy fits within foreign policy priorities, what the logic is behind a country’s support for democracy, and how the funding dedicated to democracy abroad is structured.

Click here to read the full publication

More news

Public letter to the Czech Minister of European Affairs and the EU Ministers of European Affairs on the Regulation of Political Adverstising
Media Freedom Act
Reaction to the European Commission’s Proposal for a European Media Freedom Act
Youth Democracy cohort EPD
The voice of the 50%: EPD announces its co-leadership of the Youth Civic and Political Engagement Cohort of the Summit for Democracy
Exploring worldwide democratic innovations
Exploring Worldwide Democratic Innovations
EPD COnference 2022
Supporting democracy and improving coordination in a new era: takeaways from the European Partnership for Democracy Conference 2022
Club de Madrid Mission Cabo Verde
Djuntu pa Igualdadi! Fighting Gender-based Violence with a participatory approach
10 recommendations for a European response to the Ukraine invasion
Civil society recommendations for an ambitious rule of law report in 2022
EPD stands with Ukraine
Supporting transparency: strengthening dialogue between civil society and public authorities in Morocco
EPD Statement on the Commission’s 2022 Rule of Law Report
Call for Application: Final Evaluation of Media Dialogue Project
Back To Top